Добавил:
Upload Опубликованный материал нарушает ваши авторские права? Сообщите нам.
Вуз: Предмет: Файл:
2 Contents+Units.doc
Скачиваний:
13
Добавлен:
24.02.2016
Размер:
1.88 Mб
Скачать

My Family

Let me introduce myself. My name is Oksana. I am 18. I was born in Poltava. My parents moved to Kharkiv when I was five. My family is a large one. There are six of us: mother, father, sister, brother, grandmother and me. We live in Kharkiv.

My mother, Olha Oleksandrivna, works in a college now, she is a teacher of physics and maths. She is a good-looking woman rather tall and slim. My mother is forty-five now but she looks much younger. As to my father, Volodymyr Petrovych, he is a mechanical engineer and is very experienced in this field. He likes his work and spends much time at his office. My father is forty-seven. He is a broad-shouldered tall man with fair hair and grey eyes. He is very handy with many things. He can fix almost everything: a vacuum cleaner, a washing machine, a fridge, a TV-set and what not.

My parents have been married for twenty-six years. They have much in common, but they have different views on music, sports and films. But both of them love nature. When we were kids, our parents used to take us out into the country where they taught us to love and respect nature.

My elder sister Helen is twenty-five. She is married and has got a family of her own. She works as an accountant in a bank. Her husband, Oleh, is a dentist. They have got twins: a daughter and a son. So I am an uncle. My niece and nephew go to nursery school. My brother Sergei is twenty. He is a student, too. He studies at the University of Civil Engineering and Architecture. He is interested in technological equipment automated control systems so he studies at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Technology. My brother is going to be a highly-skilled engineer.

My grandmother used to be a nurse, but she retired some years ago. She lives with us and helps to run the house. My granny is very fond of knitting. Put it into a few words, we are a united and friendly family. We are deeply attached to one another.

As for me I have entered the University of Civil Engineering and Architecture this year. I study at Faculty of Architecture. I want to become a good specialist like my father. So I am a busy person now. I have to do a lot of things: to attend lectures and classes, to prepare for seminars, laboratory works and tests. My favourite subjects are Mathematics and Drawing. When I have free time I go in for sport. I’m good at table tennis. I have got some friends and I meet them as often as I can possibly manage. Most of them are my schoolmates. We made friends many years ago. We always give a helping hand when one of us is in need. We go to parties together, or just walk once in a while. I hope to find new friends at the University.

Activity 5. Decide which of these statements are true or false. Correct the false statements.

1. Oksana is 18.

2. She was born in Kyiv.

3. Her mother teaches information technology.

4. Her father is handy with many things.

5. Oksana has got an elder brother.

6. Their parents have taught their children to love and respect nature.

7. Their grandmother is a pensioner.

8. Oksana’s hobby is collecting post stamps.

9. She has got many friends at the University.

Activity 6. Fill in the missing words from the box in the following sentences below.

niece grandchildren daughter sister son-in-law

son husband nephew uncle mother-in-law

1. Olha Aleksandrivna and Volodymyr Petrovych are Oksana’s .............. .

2. They have got 2 ....... and 1........... .

3. Helen is Oksana’s elder ........ .

4. Volodymyr Petrovych is Olha Oleksandrivna’s .......... .

5. Oleh is Olha Oleksandrivna and Volodymyr Petrovych’s ........ .

6. Helen’s children are Oksana’s ....... and ............ .

7. Oleh is Oksana’s ........... .

8. Olha Oleksandrivna is Oleh’s ........... .

9. Helen’s children have got 2 .......... .

10. Oksana’s grandmother has got 3 ........ .

Activity 7. Answer the following questions and arrange the answers you have made into a story about yourself and your family.

• What is your full name?

• How do your parents and friends call you for short?

• How old are you?

• When were you born? What is your place of birth?

• Have you got a big family?

• Where does your mother work?

• What can you say about her appearance, character and hobby?

• What does your father do?

• What else can you say about him?

• Have you got sisters or brothers?

• How old is he/she?

• Does he/she work/study?

• Are they married?

• Have you got grandparents?

• Where do you study now?

• Have you got any friends?

• How do you spend your free time?

Activity 8. Ask your new friend Christina some questions. Formulate them according to her answers.

You: .......................?

Christina: My name is Christina

You:.......................?

Christina: I am from Odessa

You:.......................?

Christina: I am 18. And you?

You: ..........…...……….........…?

Christina: I study at the Conservatory.

You:.......................?

Christina: No, I’m not going to be a pianist. I’m going to be a singer.

You:.......................?

Christina: No, I haven’t got any hobby but music. It takes all my time.

You:.......................?

Christina: No, I don’t live in a students hostel. I live at my grandparents.

You:.......................?

Christina: I’m afraid I won’t be able to see you tomorrow. Maybe some other day?

You:.......................?

Christina: Well, Sunday is OK. Call me, this is my phone number.

You:.......................

Christina: See you soon.

Activity 9.

Step 1. Read the following two texts.

I

Hans Huser is a ski-instructor. He is Swiss and lives in Villars, a village in the mountains. In summer he works in a sports shop and in winter he teaches skiing. He speaks four languages, French, German, Italian, and English. He is married and has two sons. He plays football with them in his free time.

II

Mark King comes from England. He is a journalist and now he lives and works in Moscow. Mark works for the Moscow BBC office. He speaks three languages, English, Russian and German. Mark is married and has three daughters. He plays tennis in his free time.

Step 2. In pairs talk about Hans Huser and Mark King.

Step 3. Compose short stories about Paul Tapis and Taka Wilson using the following information.

Taka Wilson

a fashion designer

Country

Japan

Town

New York

Place of work

Fashion House

Languages

Japanese, English

Family

married to an American, two sons

Free time

theatre


Paul Tapis

a taxi driver

Country

France

Town

Paris

Place of work

in the center of Paris

Married?

No

Family

a dog!

Free time

walking with his dog and football


Activity 10. Do this task even if you don’t believe in astrology and never read horoscopes. It’s just for fun and language improvement.

Step 1. Define your Zodiak sign by studying the following chart.

Model sentence: My Zodiak sign is Gemini because I was born on the 24th of May.

Step 2. Comment on each column of the chart, agreeing or disagreeing with the descriptions and qualities given in them.

Model sentences: Though I am a Gemini by horoscope I can't even draw. Being a typical Gemini I really like talking.