- •Disclaimer
- •Contact
- •Table of Contents
- •Welcome to REAKTOR
- •System Requirements
- •REAKTOR Modes: Full, Player and Demo
- •How to Get Started
- •The REAKTOR Documentation
- •Special Formatting used in this Document
- •Basic Settings in REAKTOR
- •Configuring the Audio Hardware
- •Accessing the Audio and MIDI Settings… dialog
- •Selecting an Audio Hardware Device
- •Selecting a Sample Rate
- •Adjusting Output Latency
- •Routing: Assigning REAKTOR's Inputs
- •Routing: Assigning REAKTOR's Outputs
- •Configuring the MIDI Hardware
- •Loading and Playing
- •A Few Important Buttons
- •Ensembles, Instruments and KOMPLETE Instruments
- •Loading Carbon 2
- •Opening the Sidepane
- •Opening the Browser
- •Loading a File
- •Playing Carbon 2 and its Snapshots
- •Loading a Snapshot
- •Adjusting the Sound
- •Switching Effects
- •Changing the Filter Movement
- •Changing the Filter Settings
- •Saving Your Settings
- •Modifying a REAKTOR Ensemble
- •Recap
- •Using the Browser to Load the Ensemble
- •Instruments inside Ensembles
- •Junatik Panel Overview
- •The Difference Between an Ensemble and an Instrument
- •Snapshot Master for Plug-In and Snapshot Hierarchies
- •Snapshot Hierarchy as seen in Properties
- •Recall by MIDI and Snapshot Master for Plug-In
- •Snapshot Properties for the Junatik Instrument
- •Snapshot with a REAKTOR Switch Turned Off
- •Snapshot Flexibility
- •Swapping the Delay Instrument for a Reverb Instrument
- •Opening a REAKTOR Structure
- •Removing an Instrument from the Structure
- •Using the Bowser to Search for Instruments
- •Connecting the Instrument to the Audio Out
- •Making the Connections
- •Resetting the Positions of Instruments in the Ensemble Panel
- •Restoring the Correct Snapshot Hierarchy
- •Opening the Instrument Properties
- •Creating a Sequenced Synthesizer
- •Recap and Overview
- •Creating the Synth Sequencer Ensemble
- •Create a New Ensemble
- •Using the Browser to Load the Instruments
- •Making the Synth Sequencer Work
- •Overview of the Structure
- •Removing the Unwanted Instrument
- •Connecting ANALOG Outputs to the Audio Out
- •Overview of Monoliner and ANALOG
- •Making the MIDI Connections between Instruments
- •Using Internal MIDI Connections
- •REAKTOR Run and Stop Buttons
- •Looking More Closely at Monoliner
- •Changing the Direction and Speed
- •Number of Steps, Step Offset and Shuffle/Swing
- •GATE, VELOCITY and PITCH Knobs and On/Off Buttons
- •Exploring the Snapshots/Show Hints
- •Exploring Snapshots in Monoliner and ANALOG
- •Show/Hide Hints
- •Exploring a REAKTOR Sampler
- •Recap and Overview
- •Using the Browser to Launch Memory Drum 2
- •Replacing and Editing Samples in the Sample Map Editor
- •Opening the Map and Playing the Samples
- •Using Replace in the Edit Sample List
- •Using Add from the Edit Sample List
- •The Memory Drum Interface
- •Changing Pitch for Just one Sample Slot
- •Exploring the Memory Drum Snapshots
- •Building a Synth Using Macros
- •What is a Macro
- •Preparation
- •Loading a New Ensemble
- •Removing the Default Instrument
- •Inserting a New Instrument
- •Connecting the Instrument to the Audio Out
- •Adding an Oscillator and an ADSR Env to the Instrument
- •Inserting an Oscillator
- •Inserting the ADSR Env
- •Inserting Pitch and Gate Modules
- •Connecting the Pitch and Gate Modules
- •Safe Output Level
- •Inserting the Filter
- •Inserting the Filter Macro and Doing Some Rewiring
- •Unlocking the Panel to Move the Macros
- •Adding a Second Oscillator and a Mixer
- •Adding a Second Oscillator Using Duplicate
- •Using Properties to Rename the Oscillator Macros
- •Adding a Mixer
- •Increasing the Number of Mixer Inputs
- •Adding Faders and Connecting them to the Mixer
- •Connecting the NotePitch Module to the ADSR Envelopes and Filter
- •Tidying Up in the Instrument Panel
- •Changing the Appearance of the Faders
- •Playing Your Synth and Making Changes to the Sound
- •Changing the Oscillators Waveform, Resetting the Filter and Output Level
- •Creating some Snapshots
- •Saving Your Work Using Save As
- •Make a Sampler Using REAKTOR Modules
- •Recap and Overview
- •What Kind of Sampler?
- •Building the Basic Structure
- •Load up a New Ensemble
- •Inserting the First Modules
- •Inserting the Envelope
- •Adding the Controls for the Envelope
- •Making the Connections
- •Connecting the Sampler to the 2 Audio Voice Combiners
- •Connecting the NotePitch and Gate Modules
- •Loading a Sample into the Sampler
- •Opening the Sample Map Editor from the View Menu
- •Adding a Sample to the Sample Map Editor
- •Tidying Up the Appearance and Moving the Modules
- •Moving Modules in the Structure
- •Deleting unwanted Modules
- •Using the Panel Lock Button to Move the Knobs
- •Adding More Samples and Changing their Settings
- •Changing the Settings of the Existing Sample
- •Adding More Samples
- •Sample Reverse and Other Playback Possibilities
- •Looping, and Direction Buttons
- •Transposing a Sample
- •Adding a Filter
- •Inserting the Filter Into the Structure
- •Creating the Filter Controls and Making the Connections
- •Tidying Up the Appearance in the Instrument Panel
- •Using Save Ensemble to Update Your Already Saved Sampler
- •Modifying the Existing Sampler
- •Inserting the Selector
- •Connecting the Filter Outputs
- •Increasing the Number of Selector Inputs
- •Adding the Position Fader and Changing its Range
- •Final connections and Panel Appearance
- •Explore Your Sampler and Make Some Snapshots
- •What’s Next?
Make a Sampler Using REAKTOR Modules
Modifying the Existing Sampler
8.9.5Using Save Ensemble to Update Your Already Saved Sampler
As we have already used the Save Ensemble As… command to save our work before, we can now use the Save Ensemble command to update and overwrite our previously saved version.
▪ Press the Menu button and choose the File > Save Ensemble menu entry.
Fig. 8.17 Saving the Ensemble
If you want, there is a modification that can make the Filter more flexible. If you are inter ested in that, have a look at the next section. If you are happy with the Sampler as it is, you can skip the next section!
8.10Modifying the Existing Sampler
This section is for those of you who want a bit more flexibility with the Filter section of the Sampler.
REAKTOR 5.5 - Getting Started Guide - 137
Make a Sampler Using REAKTOR Modules
Modifying the Existing Sampler
8.10.1Overview of Selector Used to Cross-fade
Some of you might want to cross-fade between the 3 Filters just to have an easy way to select which Filter—Hi Pass, Band Pass, Low Pass—is best for your samples. If you are interested in adding this, here is what your final Structure will look like.
Fig. 8.18 Structure with the Selector Module
As you can see the Selector has 3 Inputs and a Position Fader.
The Position Fader will cross-fade between the 3 Filters, going from Hi Pass, to Band Pass and finally to Low Pass. The cross-fades will be smooth so you can have some Hi Pass mixed with some Band Pass. Here is how to create this.
8.10.2Inserting the Selector
We need to insert a Selector Module, connect the 3 Outputs from the Filter to it. Then we need to create a Position Fader and connect the Output to the 2 Audio Voice Combiners.
▪On Mac OS® X [Ctrl]+click, on Windows® right-click on a space inside the Instru ment Structure and choose Built-In Module > Signal Path > Selector/Scanner menu entry.
REAKTOR 5.5 - Getting Started Guide - 138
Make a Sampler Using REAKTOR Modules
Modifying the Existing Sampler
Fig. 8.19 Inserting the Selector Module
8.10.3Connecting the Filter Outputs
1.First, we need to connect the HP Output of the Filter to the 0 Input of the Selector.
2.Click on the black dot beside the HP Output and hold down whilst you drag the wire towards the Selector.
3.When your cursor reaches the blue dot next to the 0 Input, let go, and the connection
will be made.
The Selector Input turns black which confirms the audio connection has been created.
REAKTOR 5.5 - Getting Started Guide - 139
Make a Sampler Using REAKTOR Modules
Modifying the Existing Sampler
Fig. 8.20 Filter and Selector connected
8.10.4Increasing the Number of Selector Inputs
We need to create extra inputs for the Selector, so that all 3 Filter Outputs can be con nected.
1.While dragging a wire from the BP Output towards the Selector, we hold our Mac OS® X [Cmd] key or Windows® [Ctrl] key down as well.
2.When we reach the Selector just below our previous connection, a new input is con nected!
3.Repeat the process to connect the LP Output to a third Selector Input:
REAKTOR 5.5 - Getting Started Guide - 140
