
Descent
Second Edition Unofficial FAQ
Contents
Formatting
Frequently Asked Questions
» General Rules
» Combat
» Healing
» Hero Skills
-- Berserker
-- Champion
-- Disciple
-- Knight
-- Necromancer
-- Runemaster
-- Spiritspeaker
-- Wildlander
» Hero Abilities and Feats
-- Andira Runehand
-- Arvel Worldwalker
-- Astarra
-- Aurim
-- Elder Mok
-- Grey Ker
-- Ispher
-- Jain Fairwood
-- Laughin
-- Leoric
-- Lord Hawthorne
-- Mad Carthos
-- One Fist
-- Sahla
-- Silhouette
-- Tomble
-- Valyndra
-- Vyrah the Falconer
-- Widow Tarha
-- Zyla
» Allies
-- Raythen (Labyrinth of Ruin)
» Traits
-- Aura
-- Fly
-- Shadow
-- Split
-- Stealthy
-- Swallow
-- Sweep
-- Web
» Line of Sight and Adjacent Spaces
» Conditions
-- Burning
-- Immobilize
» Items
-- Fortuna's Dice
-- Lucky Charm
-- Mana Weave
-- Ring of Power
-- Shield of the Dark God
» Knocked Out Heroes
» Movement
-- Large monster movement
» Familiars
» Monsters
» Overlord Cards
-- Dark Charm
-- Flurry (Labyrinth of Ruin)
-- Reflective Ward (Labyrinth of Ruin)
» Quest Guide
• Campaign: The Shadow Rune
-- The Cardinal's Plight
-- Castle Daerion
-- The Dawnblade
-- The Desecrated Tomb
-- The Frozen Spire
-- The Masquerade Ball
-- The Monster's Hoard
-- The Ritual of Shadows
-- The Shadow Vault
-- The Twin Idols
-- The Wyrm Turns
• Expansion/Mini-campaign: Lair of the Wyrm
-- At the Forge
-- What's Yours is Mine
• Expansion/Campaign: Labyrinth of Ruin
-- Honor Among Thieves
-- Tipping the Scales
» Uncategorized
Frequently Asked Questions
» General Rules
Q: Many quests have townsfolk or NPCs that are treated as a "hero figure." Others, such as in the Cardinal's Plight quest, have NPC's that are treated as a "hero." What is the difference?
A: There is no difference between the term "hero" and "hero figure" in the quest rules. (1) (2)
Q: Can heroes trade with figures "treated like heroes"?
A: No. Unless otherwise specified, anything treated as a hero (and therefore not actually a hero) can only be affected by monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero. (1)
Q: If the Overlord is dragging out an encounter that he is in a position to win (in order to beat up the heroes and draw more cards for the 2nd encounter), can the heroes choose to forfeit -- and end the encounter immediately -- or do they just have to take their lumps?
A: Unfortunately, there is no way for the heroes to forfeit an encounter. (1)
Q: Do NPCs that have no stamina convert any stamina loss suffered from an attack or an ability into damage?
A: Yes, if they have no Stamina, all fatigue suffered is converted to damage. (1)
Q: When either tokens treated as heroes or monsters have "only 1 move action", does that mean they can only perform 1 move action during their turn and absolutely nothing else? Or does it mean that they can spend their 2nd action to attack or remove stun, burning etc?
A: It depends upon the specific wording in the quest. Some state that the figure cannot perform more than 1 move action, which leaves it (depending upon what it actually is) able to perform other actions. Others have figures only performing a single move action period (with no other abilities). (1)
Q: Does the overlord draw a card when he defeats/destroys a "hero" token (peasant, miner, etc)?
A: No, unless a quest specifies otherwise, the overlord only draws a card when defeating a hero. (1)
Q: When heroes skip their first turn, it would mean they skip their entire turn structure, including start of turn refreshes, would that be right?
A: Yes, if the heroes have to skip a turn, then they skip the entirety of that turn; meaning no refreshing or any other start, during, or end of turn effects. (1)
Q: Since the transition between encounters did not specify that exhausted cards are to be refreshed, would that mean that exhausted cards carried over from the end of encounter 1 would remain exhausted until the respective players take their first turn?
A: Yes. Exhausted cards would remain exhausted until refreshed at the start of the heroes' turn. (1)
Q: Does refreshing occur before activating familiars? I.e. "Terracall" would no longer be considered exhausted (carried over from last turn) for the purpose of stone attacking, during the Geomancer's turn, even if he chooses to activate the stones first?
A: Yes, refreshing would occur before activating familiars. (1)
Q: When are the used Travel Event cards shuffled back into their deck?
A: They are shuffled back at the end of each Campaign phase, except for cards which text instructs you to remove it from the game, like the "Lone Knight Challenge" card. (1)
» Combat
Q: Can you spend surges on a ranged "miss" to recover fatigue or activate other abilities?
A: If an attack misses, then no surge abilities can be spent. This means that an X, insufficient range, or lacking a surge to spend for "Shadow" causes an attack to miss. If by some means you convert a miss into a hit, then you are free to spend surges as normal. (1)
Q: Can you spend surges on a melee "miss" (fewer hearts than shields) to recover fatigue or activate other abilities?
A: Yes, can spend the surges if you do not deal damage on the attack. Not dealing damage is not considered a miss. (1)
Q: Assuming hero took fatigue equal to his stamina. Can hero recover fatigue from surge and use it on another skill within the same attack?
A: Yes, a hero can recover fatigue with a surge and use that fatigue within the same attack if he has an applicable skill. (1)
Q: Does blast propagate conditions to all affected?
A: Yes. If a surge is spent on blast and on a condition effect, then each figure affected by the attack would be affected by the condition as well (if the attack deals at least 1 damage after defense). (1)
Q: Do adjacent units targeted by an attack with Blast both take the extra blast damage in addition to the targeted damage?
A: Blast isn't an ability characterized by initial damage + splash damage; it means the single attack affects multiple figures. If two figures are attacked with Widow Tarha's feat and happen to be adjacent (and Blast is triggered), there wouldn't be any additional affect. Excepting some very unique circumstances, being affected by an attack is either a yes or no situation, not a stacking one. (1) (2)
» Healing
Q: KO'd heroes can only be targeted for healing. Can a hidden hero's token be targeted with healing or other abilities?
A: No, unless otherwise specified a hero token cannot be targeted with healing unless that hero token represents a knocked out hero. (1)
» Hero Skills
Q: Can you use hero abilities like "Defend" on NPCs like the Cardinal and Sir Palamon?
A: Yes, if they are treated as a hero. (1)
-- Berserker
|
Q: Does "Weapon Mastery" give surges before or after the dice are rolled? A: "Weapon Mastery" may be used after the dice are rolled. (1) (2) Q: Can Berserker use "Counter Attack" with a Melee weapon with Reach, against monster that attacked him with it's Reach attack, not from adjacent space? A: "Counter Attack" specifically refers to an adjacent monster. In this case no, the Berserker cannot use "Counter Attack" against a monster that attacked him with Reach. (1) (2) Q: Are additional 2 life points recovered by "Brute" skill associated with Stand Up action and Revive Hero action? Or maybe with "Brute," Berserker always recovers 2 more life, no matter what effect causes him to be revived? A: A hero recovering Health by means of something like a Disciple's healing is not considered as a stand-up or revive action, so the ability on the Berserker's "Brute" would not apply in that case. (1) |
-- Champion
|
Q: Do the damage tokens acquired on "Valorous Strike" stay in between encounters? The rules state that valor is retained but says nothing of these damage tokens. A: Yes, damage tokens from "Valorous Strike" remain on the card between encounters, but are discarded at the end of a quest. (1) Q: What happens to Valor tokens between encounters? Or if the hero is KO'd? Do they stay or go? A: Valor tokens remain on a hero's Hero sheet between encounters but not between quests. They also remain if the hero is knocked out. (1) Q: If a Champion is knocked out, can other heroes still use valour tokens for "Valour of Heroes" (+1 damage) or "Glory of Battle" (+1 shield)? A: This is a little tricky, but yes. Since the hero is receiving a physical "thing" that doesn't rely on the Champion being on the map to trigger, another hero would be able to use valor when the Champion is knocked out. (1) |
-- Disciple
|
Q: Does "Divine Fury" and "Holy Power" stack? Do both heroes get the yellow Dice? A: Yes, "Divine Fury" would stack with "Holy Power." (1) |
-- Knight
|
Q: If a knight with "Shield Slam" attacks a shadow dragon and gets only one surge, can he spend the surge to stun the dragon or if he does that the attack miss? A: You are correct, the Knight could not spend the surge because the attack would be considered a miss. (1) Q: Can one use "Advance" when there's no enemy within 2 spaces of Knight just to get additional movement? A: Yes, the Knight may use "Advance" even when there's no enemy within the movement range. (1) Q: When monster uses skills like "Flail," "Leap," which target number of heroes, one of which is Knight, can Knight use "Defend"? What will the effect be? The figure cannot be attacked by the same attack twice, so does it cancel out one of targets? A: Yes, the Knight may use "Defend" against attacks that target multiple heroes. This is a fine distinction of nomenclature between "targeting" and "targeted by". Technically, the (let's say Merriod) Merriod is targeting 2 different heroes, one of which is the Knight. The Knight uses "Defend" to declare himself the target of the other attack as well, so both attacks affect him, and he rolls his defense dice once for each attack. (1) Q: If I use "Defense Training" instead of exhausting shield, can I still exhaust the same shield during the same attack? A: Yes; there is nothing preventing the Knight from exhausting "Defense Training" and then exhausting the shield during the same attack. (1) |
-- Necromancer
|
Q: Regarding the skill "Vampiric Blood," does the Necromancer recover 1 fatigue for each monster killed? A: The Necromancer recovers 1 fatigue for each monster defeated. If he defeats 2 monsters in one attack, he would recover 2 fatigue. (1) (2) Q: If a Necromancer is surrounded and has no empty space adjacent to him, can he still summon his Reanimate? Does it spawn in the closest empty available space or is he completely barred from using the ability? A: It would be placed in the closest empty space. (1) |
-- Runemaster
|
Q: Can the Runemaster skill "Ghost Armor" be used only once per attack or multiple times per attack? A: "Ghost Armor" can be used as many times as the Runemaster wishes, as long as he can suffer the fatigue in order to trigger it. (1) Q: Does "Break the Rune" target the runemaster? A: At the moment, by the wording it would. However, it would seem to make the card a little unappealing, so we'll perhaps take a close look at whether or not that should remain. (1) Q: Can Runemaster hero use Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer and suffer 1 damage instead? A: Yes he can. (1) |
-- Spiritspeaker
|
Q: Can an ability that is triggered by an attack "before dice are rolled" (e.g. "Stoneskin") be used if a surge or other effect allows additional figures to be "affected"? Some argue that only the original target is attacked & others are merely "affected". Some argue that it has to be declared before the attack dice are rolled. Some say it should be allowed for any figure potentially taking damage, before rolling defense dice. A: The figure must be the target of an attack before dice are rolled to receive the "Stoneskin" ability. It cannot be used as a "just in case" for Blast or Firebreath. (1) Q: "Stoneskin" - When you add a gray dice exhausting this skill, how long does the added dice last ?? ( Only for the attack that allowed the use of stoneskin or until the skill is refreshed ? ) A: "Stoneskin" is used once during a single attack and cannot be used again until the card refreshes. (1) Q: When you use a class skill that results in multiple monsters to suffer damage or heroes to recover damage and/or fatigue at the same time ( like tempest, vigor, share pain, and so on ) and you then exhaust "Ancestor Spirits," what is the result ? Are all the monsters poisoned or only one ? Same for Heroes, are all recovering additionnal damage and fatigue or only one ? A: With "Ancestor Spirits," any ability that damages multiple monsters will Poison each damaged monster, and any ability that allows damage or fatigue recovery for multiple heroes will recover 1 damage and 1 fatigue for each affected hero. (1) |
-- Wildlander
|
Q: Can Wildlander's skills "Running Shot" and "First Strike" be combined? Can he move at all and when exactly (during Overlord's turn)? A: Yes, a Wildlander can use "Running Shot" and "First Strike" together. When used with "First Strike," the Wildlander must spend the movement points during the overlord's turn. (1) (2) Q: Can Wildlander use a "Nimble" skill when monster is 'expanding' to adjacent space (in order to attack Wildlander) and didn't actually used movement point to enter that space? A: No, the Wildlander cannot use "Nimble" in that situation because the monster only technically enters the one space chosen before it expands. (1) (2) Q: Is "Nimble" an interrupt? When the Wildlander wishes to trigger "Nimble" when a large monster moves adjacent to him, must the Overlord first expand the large monster (like against the "Knight's Guard")? A: "Nimble" is considered an interrupt, and a large monster would need to expand before the Wildlander would complete its movement. As with other interrupts, it's not eligible to perform against large monsters unless the large monster has the space to expand in the first place. (1) Q: Does Black Arrow deal 3 damage before or after surges are spent? A: Black Arrow is resolved after surges are spent.(1) |
» Hero Abilities and Feats
-- Andira Runehand
Q: Andira Runehand's hero ability reads: "Each time you suffer 1 or more damage from an adjacent figure, that figure suffers 1 damage." If Andira has fatigue equal to her stamina and suffers fatigue due to an ability of an adjacent monster, say an leech ability (or a master cave spider's web ability), does the monster take 1 damage from Andira?
A: The damage in this case is suffered as the result of having suffered fatigue up to the hero's Stamina, so Andira Runehand's ability would not trigger. (1)
-- Arvel Worldwalker
Q: For Arvel Worldwalker and Hugo the Glorious, do their rerolls need to be kept or can they use the original roll?
A: Unless the reroll skill/ability/etc specifically states that you can keep either the new result or the original, you have to keep the new results. (1)
-- Astarra
Q: When Astarra moves using her ability, does she actually have to trace a path on the map to reach the target square, or just place herself adjacent to the hero? Would monsters in between her and the hero block her movement? Would she suffer from effects such as lava or freezing? Can the OL pit trap her during this movement?
A: Astarra is removed and placed, so there are no terrain or obstacle effects to hinder that movement. However, she is entering an empty space, so the overlord could play a Pit Trap. (1)
-- Aurim
Q: How do Power Potions work with Aurim?
A: Aurim gains no additional benefits for using a power potion. (1)
-- Elder Mok
Q: Would 'Elder Mok' reover 1 damage/fatigue per hero affected? Ex. Staff of light.
A: No. With his hero ability, Elder Mok recovers only 1 additional damage or fatigue even if 2 other heroes within 3 spaces would trigger the ability. (1)
-- Grey Ker
Q: Does Grey Ker get a complete second turn in the round in which he uses his heroic feat?
A: Grey Ker does not get an entire turn structure for his second turn when using his hero ability. For his second turn, he only gets his second action. (1)
-- Ispher
Q: One example would be Ispher's "At the start of your turn, recover 1 Health". Does Ispher Stand Up with 1 Health for free because of his ability?
A: Ispher would not stand up for free, since he's not technically on the map and thus corresponding abilities would not be able to trigger. (1)
-- Jain Fairwood
Q: If Jain Fairwood uses her ability and converts all damage received to fatigue, does she still receive a condition that requires her to take 1 [heart]?
A: Both Dark Pact and Jain Fairwood's heroic ability are applied when damage is dealt, which combat rules is the last phase of any given attack. The application of conditions occurs in the "spend surges" section. So, prior to any damage being dealt, assuming everything applies in regards to damage > defense, the effect of the condition will be applied during the Spend Surges phase, before the Deal Damage phase of the attack.
Even if you could make an argument towards the Condition applying during the Deal Damage phase of the attack, any kind of timing conflicts *always* rule in favor of the active player, which in this case is the overlord. Since the overlord fulfills the requirements to inflict the condition (hearts > defense, surge: condition), he applies the condition to the player, and THEN the player may choose to redirect damage in whatever fashion he or she is able to. (1)
Q: If Jain Fairwood converts all damage suffered to fatigue, do game effects triggered by damage still apply? The original question involved spending a surge to apply the Poison condition, but there are other effects as well. It was argued that because damage is step 5 of combat, the surge in step 4 would still be able to poison Jain because (potential) damage was rolled.
A: Yes, Jain Fairwood would still be affected by game effects that trigger off of dealing damage. For example, a surge ability that gives poison would apply to a target as long as the attack dealt 1 damage, regardless of how much damage the target actually suffers. (1)
-- Laughin
Q: Can Laughin use his feat while stunned? Would he get 3 attacks or 2 attacks?
A: He would be able to use his Heroic Feat while Stunned, and he would get all 3 of the attacks. However, he would still have the Stunned condition and would have to perform an action to clear it at some later turn. (1)
-- Leoric
Q: Regarding Leoric's heroic ability: "Each monster within 3 spaces of you receives -1 Wounds on all attack rolls (to a minimum of 1)." Is the -1 wound applied to the entire attack after surge abilities are determined or just to the actual wounds that are rolled on the dice?
A: The effect of Leoric's Heroic Ability would be applied as soon as dice are rolled, before surges are spent. (1)
-- Lord Hawthorne
Q: Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat lets him perform an attack, move up to 2 spaces and then perform an attack again.
Knight's Advance let's him move up to his speed(4) and attack again.
If he uses his heroic feat and kills the monster and activates Advance what happens? Does he get 6 movement points in total and can attack twice after moving that much?
I believe it works like this, let's name the space on which Lord Hawthorne is standing when doing first attack Starting Space.
I believe he can move up to 2 from Starting Space then make and attack from Advance, then he can move up to 4 counting from Starting Space and attack from heroic feat. So that gives him max 4 movement, not 6. Is that right?
A: Yes, Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat can be combined with Advance. Keep in mind that the monster has be defeated for Advance to trigger. However, each ability doesn't "gain movement points." So while yes, he may attack, move 2 spaces, attack and defeat a monster, then advance another 4 spaces (bringing him 6 spaces away from his starting space, assuming he didn't backtrack), he may not attack, attack, advance/attack, and then move six spaces. (1)
-- Mad Carthos
Q: Mad Carthos' hero ability says once per turn, when using a skill that costs 1 fatigue it will cost zero fatigue instead. It doesn't say "per round", it doesn't specify whose turn it should be. Does that mean I could possibly use 1 fatigue skill on my turn, then on each of other 3 heroes' turns, and on overlord's turn, each time for free?
This also affects Sir Valadir and Astarra.
Can Sir Valadir use his ability on his turn, then on overlord's turn if Sir Valadir counterattacks? Can Astarra use her ability to "teleport" with move action granted by Syndrael's feat, on Syndrael's turn, then "teleport" again on Astarra's turn?
A: It does indeed say per turn and not per round. Each hero has a turn, and the overlord has a turn, so these abilities, by the rules currently written, are allowed to be used each turn. (1)
-- One Fist
Q: I have a question about One Fist, from Descent's Conversion Kit. It says One Fist can make a free Melee attack, no real problem with that. But does he count as "armed with a Melee weapon" for the purpose of all the skills that let a character "perform an attack with a melee weapon" (like Charge, Death Rage, Guard, etc...) or for skills that trigger when you have "2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each" (like Weapon Mastery) ?
A: No, One Fist's free attack is not considered to be a melee weapon. He must still have a melee weapon equipped to trigger abilities requiring a melee weapon. (1)
Q: The first sentence of One Fist's ability reads "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of equipment." It does not say "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of weapons" or "The combination of One Fist's equipped items may not have more than one hand icons in total" both of which would clearly indicate he can equip non-weapon equipment.
Since the ability says the only "equipment" he can equip is that which has one hand icon on it, and since "equipment" includes armor and "other" stuff, the reading seems to indicate he can't equip anything that is not a one-handed weapon.
May One First equip any non-weapon equipment?
A: One Fist has trouble dressing himself, eh? No, he can still equip armor and accessories. "Only 1 hand" refers to, you guessed it, 1 hand of equipment instead of 2. (1)
-- Sahla
Q: Sahla's heroic feat allows him to use another heroes skill - If he had full fatigue could he use a skill like Iron Will to gain a stamina to use prayer of healing?
A: Yes (1)
-- Silhouette
Q: Can Silhouette activate her Heroic Feat, and then, before performing any moves, search a token adjacent to her for free? Can Silhouette use her Heroic Feat to move ten spaces and THEN get a free search of an adjacent search token? Can she do both?
The real question behind these questions is: What does "you move adjacent to [a token]" mean? Does it mean "when you enter a space adjacent to [a token]" or something else? if something else, what? See an applicable diagram of the problem in my original post at (1)
A: In this case, "moved" is more or less equal to "entered," so she could search the token adjacent to her 10th space but not one that she began adjacent to (unless of course she moved into a different space adjacent to that token). (1)
Q: Can Silhouette's Heroic Feat be used to search Challenge Tokens, or is she literally limited to just being able to search Search Tokens?
A: No, Silhouette can only get search tokens with her Heroic Feat. (1)
-- Tomble
Q: If Tomble is carrying an objective token (Trueshot Bow, crop, Idol, etc.) and decides to use his heroic feat to vanish off of the board, does the objective token get dropped or does it disappear with him off of the board?
A: Unless quest rules specify otherwise, he'd keep the objective token with him. (1)
-- Valyndra
Q: Does Valyndra's Hoarder ability activates on searching Challenge tokens?
A: Yes. Hoarder triggers when a hero performs a search action, and a challenge tokens are revealed by a hero performing a search action. (1)
-- Vyrah the Falconer
Q: The Skye familiar states that an adjacent monster may be forced to reroll. If a monster occupies the same space as Skye is that still considered adjacent?
A: No (1)
-- Widow Tarha
Q: What is the interaction of the Blast attack modifier with Widow Tarha's Feat?
A: Widow Tarha's Heroic Feat can make use of Blast, and as such it would affect the two figures chosen for the attack as well as each other figure adjacent to them. (1) (2)
-- Zyla
Q: Can Zyla fly over the boulders in Death on the Wing?
A: No, Zyla would not be able to move through spaces containing boulders, as they are not considered figures or terrain. (1)
Q: Does Zyla suffer a fatigue when moving out of a space containing a master spider when she is moving through?
A: Yes (1)
» Allies
-- Raythen (Labyrinth of Ruin)
Q: Does Raythen's Investigate allow the Treasure Hunter to use Gold Rush if he/she is the closest hero?
A: Yes. (1)
» Traits
-- Aura
Q: Aura ability. Shadow don't stack, command don't stack…what about aura?
A: Aura is cumulative. Shadow and command are not. (1) (2)
-- Fly
Q: Can monsters with Fly ability move over (through) obstacles?
A: Obstacles are considered terrain for the purposes of movement, so monsters with Fly can indeed ignore them when moving. (1)
Q: Can flying creature has its movement interrupted by skills like Knight's Guard or Thief's Caltrops or Wildlander's Nimble?
A: Yes, a flying figure may be interrupted by certain effects, (Guard, Caltrops, Nimble). (1)
Q: Does flying creature needs 2 movement points to end it's movement on the water? Does flying creature takes 1 damage from lava when it lands on lava?
A: There is no distinction or definition of a flying monster "landing." Since flying has the "ignore" when the figure is moving, and water/pit/lava, effects trigger based upon moving and/or entering spaces, a flying figure would never have to use extra movement points or suffer damage for entering those spaces. (1)
Q: Is flying creature defeated when ending it's activation on lava?
A: Because secondary effects (speaking of pit spaces and lava spaces) trigger based upon other factors that are unrelated to a flying monster's movements, a flying monster that ends its activation in a lava space would be immediately defeated, and a flying monster that ends its activation in a pit must spend an action to climb out (or move out by some other means). (1)
-- Shadow
Q: Does the Shadow trait stack when a melee unit is adjacent to multiple Shadow units?
A: 2 shadow abilities do not stack. A hero adjacent to 2 shadow dragons only needs to spend 1 surge to hit. (1) (2)
Q: The Shadow ability on the Shadow Dragon specifically states that "a hero adjacent..." needs to expend a surge to have a successful attack.
So if a Summoned Stone (treated as an obstacle, not treated as a figure) attacks an adjacent Shadow Dragon via Terracall, does it need a surge to get past Shadow?
What about a hero attacking through the stone via something like Molten Fury?
(And I suppose just to cover all the bases, does a Reanimate count as "a hero" for this purpose as well?")
A: Since a Summoned Stone is treated as an obstacle and not a hero or monster figure, no abilities applying to heroes or monsters may be used. Thus, it wouldn't be affected by Shadow. However, any ability that allows you to attack through a Summoned Stone, if it's adjacent to a Shadow Dragon, is subject to the Shadow ability (since the hero is the one performing the attack).
The Reanimate is treated as a hero figure, so it would be subject to Shadow.
-- Split
Q: [Must/May] one of the Kobolds that comes into play after the "Split" ability be placed in the space where the Master Kobold was standing when he died and triggered the Split?
A: The card does use the word "replace" in its text for Split, which is a simultaneous remove and place that utilizes the same space from which it was removed. 1 kobold minion would have to be placed in the space that the master occupied before defeated, and the other would be placed in the closest empty space. (1)
-- Stealthy
Q: How much range is required to hit a Stealthy unit with a melee attack?
A: The stealthy ability requires melee attacks to roll at least 3 range to hit. Melee attacks usually require 0 range (even with Reach), so 3 is all the range the attack would need. (1)
-- Swallow
Q: Does the Ice Wyrm's Swallow ability prevent standing up, or only revival?
A: The Ice Wyrm Swallow ability only prevents revival, not a hero performing a stand up action. (1)
-- Sweep
Q: Does sweep affect all figures in range or is line of sight required also?
A: Sweep requires line of sight to the target. (1)
-- Web
Q: Web: Do heroes have to pay one fatigue to move out of each and every square adjacent to the Master Cave Spider during their movement? For example a character attempting to run past a Master Cave Spider in a two square wide corridor (a hallway for instance) would end up paying a total of three fatigue to travel through the three squares adjacent to the spider in order to get completely past it.
A: Yes. Any time a hero moves out of a space adjacent to the master cave spider, he has to suffer 1 fatigue. The master can block up travel paths pretty well like this, as a hero could suffer a lot of fatigue moving past it. (1)